Home > Faith, Teens, Youth Workers > Youth and Missional Living

Youth and Missional Living

I’ve been reading The Forgotten Ways by Alan Hirsch.  It’s really getting me to reevaluate how I look at Christianity in the West.  Here’s a few quotes I pulled from a site that is also looking at what the missional church looks like and what it means to us here in the West. Let me add that I’m only writing this to get you to think about how we engage youth in ministry. I’m not saying that this is the only way of doing things. It’s just something to think about.

Dan Kimball in “The Emerging Church” (Zondervan, 2003) describes the missional church “as a body of people sent on a mission who gather in community for worship, encouragement, and teaching from the Word that supplements what they are feeding themselves throughout the week.”

This shift in thinking is expressed by Ed Stetzer and David Putman in their book, “Breaking the Missional Code” (Broadman & Holman, 2006) like this:(the last three are from site Friend of Missional)

  • From programs to processes
  • From demographics to discernment
  • From models to missions
  • From attractional to incarnational
  • From uniformity to diversity
  • From professional to passionate
  • From seating to sending
  • From decisions to disciples
  • From additional to exponential
  • From monuments to movements
  • From services to service
  • From ordained to the ordinary
  • From organizations to organisms

It’s a complete paradigm shift and one that I believe youth are looking for.  Adults are great at wording this the way it needs to be but I believe that the youth of today are ready for something that matters.  According to Barna, this generation wants to be a part of things that matter and add value to their lives.  It’s the whole active vs. passive faith conversation which I’m sure I’ll get into soon.  I am a huge proponent of this generation and I am excited to see how they change the world!

Categories: Faith, Teens, Youth Workers
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

