Home > Faith, Parents, Teens, Youth Workers > Infants and teens part 3 – Thoughts from the past

Infants and teens part 3 – Thoughts from the past

Part 3: thoughts from the past

A few weeks ago, I was watching Supernanny. Of course, I watch it because I learn how to deal with my high-energy daughter Makenna. It’s actually been helpful on many occasions. Anyway, there was this family in England that gave their 4 year old a bottle and ground the regular food to a pulp and still fed it to their two and a half year olds… I was shocked. The parents said that the kids just couldn’t eat food unless it was all blended. That they couldn’t handle it.

Yesterday, I thought to myself, I wonder if Mattie can hold her own bottle. I hadn’t tried it before but why not? At first, she didn’t want to take it because I wasn’t holding it but then if I held her hands their she did.  If I moved my hands, she would hold it for a while but then she would get destracted or move her hands and then she would cry because she was frustrated. Well this morning, my wife put her in the beanbag, stuck the bottle in her mouth and Mattie grabbed it and finished if off by herself.  I started to wonder how long ago we could have done that… and why did I think she couldn’t do it.

Like I always do, I started to think how it related to youth. I don’t know why I do that but I can’t help it. Do adults treat teens like infants and, in essence, hold the bottle for them?  Do adults still mash up the food and feed them? What would happen if teens “held their own bottle” or took the fork and chewed their own food? What does that even look like? Is it more that adults are afraid that teens will screw it up or do adults just know what to do next?

I think teens can and will step up and do much more than adults think they can but it can be a little unnerving to let them go.

Categories: Faith, Parents, Teens, Youth Workers
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

